Eren's Story, Prelude (ElementAurix)

[I’d like to begin with that this is my first attempt at writing of any kind (so I’m low-key terrified) so I don’t know how well it will turn out or how quickly I will be able to continue it. It does begin up topics of mental health, so be warned. I suffer from agoraphobia so I wanted to make an effort to both reach out to come out of my shell and to have something I can relate to with the character…also, fluffy seem like a great therapy device. This is just some character and story set up, any and all constructive criticism is welcome. Please enjoy.]

Eren sits at the computer, staring at the screen as he desperately tries to get control of his breathing. “Just another anxiety attack” he thinks, trying to reason with himself as he closes the lid of his laptop. No work will be done today either, it was too overwhelming.

Desperately, he opens a pill bottle and quickly pops a couple in his mouth and downs it with a gulp of water, hoping that his anti-anxiety medication kicks in quickly. Already feeling drained from night after night of insomnia and the pitiful quality of meager sleep he does get he drags himself back over to his bed, knowing that once the pills took effect that he would calm his nerves and eventually drift off to sleep.

That gave him a small sense of comfort as he flopped down onto his bed, pulling his phone off the charger to set it up on the pillow next to him. As he unlocks his phone to stare at the background, a faint smile crosses his face while tears well up in his eyes. A picture of a joyful woman with two small children, a boy of four and a girl at a year and a half, smile unmoving back at him as he breaks down.