Acceptance: By Stwumpo

“Send the next patient in.”

My nurse walks in holding a smiling blue unicorn under his armpits. He’s a mature stallion, probably a rescue. His fluff is clean and he’s healthy, but he’s got the hooves of a feral. He slept rough for a long time, probably years. He’s loved now, though. He’s safe now. No more hurties.

“Hewwo nice mistah! Nyu fwend? Bwian wub nyu fwend, ou wanna meet Bwian daddeh? Bwian wiww intwodoos, nu wowwy.” Shit. He’s a talker. That makes my job a lot harder.

See, Brian is a fully…intact fluffy. It’s another reason I suspect he’s a rescue, most sold fluffies are castrated to keep numbers low. We specialize in fixing mature fluffies here. Fluffies who already have a basic understanding of the world and what is being taken from them. Their owners bring them here so they don’t have depressed pets after the procedure.

See I’m not a veterinarian. I’m a psychologist. I talk with them. Prepare them for the procedure. Help them come to terms with what’s to come. Then, following the procedure, I debrief them, help them grieve, and when they’re ready I bring them to the Good Friends room. We keep a hodgepodge of neutered fluffies of all ages back there, hand picked to be the friendliest and smartest. They’ll help him heal.

But that’s the end. This is the beginning.

I help the polite gentleman into the soft nest on my desk. It puts him at chest level with me and I lean in close so we’re face to face. “Hi there Brian, my name is Doctor Matthew. Do you know why you’re here?” He gleefully shakes his head. “Nupe! Bwian hab nu idea at aww! Su escited!” Man, he is really cute. I don’t blame the owner, it’s my job and I don’t want to kill his vibe. Poor little dude.