Edgar's birthday part 1 (by Backagain)

This is my first time writing, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I used to lurk fluffybooru a fair amount of years ago, when the whole fluffy thing started. Reading all the stories and looking at all the artpieces posted used to be an enjoyable hobby for me.
As my name says, this nameless lurker is back again and I want to give the writing thing a shot.

I’m not the best at writing, so I hope you all bare with me and give me some advice.

~first page in my first short story~

Your name is Edgar. You’re a timid young boy that lacks the basic social interactions you’d expect from friends and family. At school you’re bullied just about every day and at home you’re beaten and berated by your mother and her current lover.

Living in your house is a constant struggle consisting of trying not to choke on the ever-present abundance of cigarette smoke that plagues your home and escaping your drunken mother’s and “stepfather’s” wrath at the late hours of the night. It’s a rare blessing when you’re able to sleep before 1 in the morning, usually because your parents knocked themselves out with a concoction of beer and medication.

Today, however, seems to be a promising day. It’s your 13th birthday! On your birthday week you usually tend to spend it with your grandparents. Stoked out of your young mind you decide to wake up early and get showered and dressed to go out. You simply can’t wait!

When you’re done getting dressed you step out of your room and run into Mike, your current “stepfather”, groggily getting out of your mother’s room.
(to give you an idea, both Edgar’s room and his Mother’s room are a short step away from the bathroom. So it’s basically impossible to miss eachother or not know when someone heads to one or the other.)

With a groan he turns to you, the smell of last night’s alcohol and cigarette smoke still fresh in his breath and says;
What the fuck has you so happy and excited?