Getting Indy (Thalassophobia)

My name is Jeremy Shim. I moved out here for film school. It wasn’t really where I thought I’d be, but it’s a nice town and I had some good friends. Unfortunately, Bryce and Tyler moved home. They said it didn’t make sense to keep living out here if they couldn’t get an industry job.

That hasn’t stopped me. Right now, there aren’t any film jobs, at least not for me, even though I won a laurel at the school’s art show and the city film festival. I just didn’t have the right connections, but I was going to show up one day with something that blew them all away. Just as soon as I figure out what.

My bio says I’m a professional storyteller, but that’s a lie I tell myself. I’m 84,000 dollars in debt and I work at a gas station, even though I did everything right.

At least Driving Mart isn’t so bad. It’s an independent station with a bunch extra, including a fast-food counter and a section with bongs and camping gear. There were tourists coming to the lakes, going to the woods, locals getting beer and snacks, college kids hanging out for the fries. Not a bad place for a people watcher, even though being a cashier feels invisible. Most people don’t even notice I’m a person, just some thing that scans and grabs cigarettes. I don’t blame them. We all need to get through the day, but it would be nice if something worth remembering happened. I don’t even remember the last kid, except his Blast Energy and two Slim Jims.

I look up from the pile of snacks three kids are buying when the door chimes and I see an absolute babe walk in with a pink fluffy in a baby carrier. She’s got long brown legs, faded daisy dukes, and an ass you could balance a can on. I get back to scanning and finish the kid’s purchase. They paid with $9.28 in loose change, then pulled out a twenty that would have covered the whole transaction. Bastards wanted to empty the coin jar on me.