Not The Kind Of Regulations We Need, But Hey Go Off I Guess: By Stwumpo

Sometimes friends ask me why I never left West Virginia. “You’re a mincing queer little fairy boy, why not go somewhere where that’s accepted?” I like to firstly correct their outdated lingo and needlessly pigeonholing pronoun choices (gently if they’re a friend), and secondly remind them that bad places don’t become good places by chasing away all the good people.

Days like these make me question my thinking.

Last month a new state law was passed. In an effort to curb “widespread escapes and rape orgies” that were supposedly happening at shelters around the state, any fluffy kept at a shelter receiving state funds for longer than seven days must be pillowed by the end of the next business day. Failing to do so results in fines if we’re caught. Too many and they pull our funding.

I work as a grunt at a local shelter and about half our budget comes from the state. If we lose that, we have to close down. That means fluffies filling alleyways. That means more culls. More crackdowns.

Today is the first day for what my friend Arthur is referring to as “Nu Weggie Time.” At the end of the eighth day, we go and pillow all the expiring fluffies. It’s bound to be a tearful process, and luckily there are only seven today. I drew the short straw, so I have to do it.

On the plus side my boss gave me like a half ounce of weed and some cool 12-gauge pyrotechnic rounds for lighting shit on fire, and her boss gave me what he assures me is really good mushroom tea.

Brad prepped the unlucky seven this morning. He’d spent the last few days turning an old playroom into a sort of “goodbye legs” room. A place where the fluffies could do whatever they needed to process what was coming. We felt it was wrong to just spring it on them, and Brad volunteered to manage that group each day. Guy really has a deep well of empathy, lemme tell ya.