Sam Adams presents: the Pillows breed (Author: Oculus & Pillows)

Mr. Adams presents: the Pillows breed

by Oculus and Pillows

Illustrated by Pillows

The following is a transcript given by Ms Caird, creator of the Pillows breed. This interview is part of the narrative of Chapter 11 of the Sam Adams Guide.

So tell us a little about yourself. When did you join Hasbio?

I worked as an independent contractor in 20XX and was hired for a genetic scientist position a year later at Hasbio’s main headquarters in the US.

How long were you with Hasbio?

I was there for roughly two years.

What attracted you to Hasbio?

I did some small work for their parent company, Hasbro for their pony lines as a small-time food scientist. When Hasbio was launched, I was shown a few small-time contracts which interested me and when I was given the chance to score a long-term contract, I went for it. Fluffies, even in the beginning, always interested me. They’re the closest thing we have to real-life chimeras. A creature that is a sum of a dozen other things.

Why is the name of the breed Pillows?

Well, when I got started, I got assigned designation PLL. It’s not uncommon for us–, well, I mean, them, to use it as a starting point. Explains why some poor bastard got stuck with AID.

But you can’t pronounce P-L-L. I thought about calling my strain ‘Pills’ or ‘Pulls’ but I don’t have to work in marketing to tell you that you can’t sell ‘Pills’ to kids. Then I remembered pillow fluffs. ‘Pillows’ fluffies wasn’t a trademarked term yet so I took it. I figured, hey, free advertising, right?

No one told me until it was approved and far too late to take back.

Would you believe me if I told you that I truly didn’t know about pillowing until I had the name?

(audience laughs)