Wip Fluffy Art Doll Head by ChartreuseShroom

This head gave me so much trouble and I’m not even done lmao.
To start off with, I made another head before this one, but because it was to heavy and the material I had wouldn’t fit a whole fluffy, so I had to scrap it.

The second head I sculpted I really liked so I went along with that, making sure the fabric would fit effectively on the head.

I started painting and flocking the head, before moving on to furring it(the newspaper I used in the pictures ended up having notable information on it so I had to blur it).

Sadly though, when I attached it to the wire body I made, there wasn’t enough fabric to make the body look accurate. If I did continue, it’d look like a chibi and being so small, the heavy clay head couldn’t support the weight. I ended up buying more fabric to make a more proportional body to the head but sadly the fur color is way off, so I will need to repaint and re-fur the head with the correct fur before I can move onto the body. I am currently taking a break from this project from frustration but I plan to move back to it once I get the energy again.

Thanks for reading, here’s a bonus cat pic as consolation <3

32 Likes

That’s amazing and scary at the same time

4 Likes

Thank you! I tried to lean into the uncanny valley look for that extra fluffy weirdness lol

3 Likes

Its a nice design , man the cat bonus as if the cat had devoured ita body already :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

Right?
It looks like it’s aware it’s just a head and it’s screaming.

1 Like

it screams for the pain of existence

I loooooove when people do fibercrafts! This looks absolutely amazing!

Only thing i would recommend is adding some highlights and lowlights into the eyes if anything! Adds to the uncanny valley you have going there.

2 Likes

This is looking really awesome! I would suggest using some clear top coat nail polish on the eyes and maybe the tongue too to give them that shiny wet look.

1 Like