Sawbones, Chapter One (By Za)

Sawbones

By @Za

Chapter One

5:30 AM. Daybreak. A new experience. A chance to be awoken from a night of restful sleep by chirping birds rather than a blaring alarm clock.

My name is Dr. Joseph Lane. I’m a veterinary surgeon at the Vibrant Valley Animal Hospital. I’m often called simple by my colleagues. I prefer to describe myself as plain, though I suppose we would all be happier if we could determine how others perceive us.

6:00 AM. By this time, I’ve had my breakfast of bacon, eggs, and toast with tea.

Others perceive me in this way because of how I conduct myself. I’m what you might call particular. Each day, I follow the same strict schedule. I choose not to deviate because there’s simply no need to fix what isn’t broken.

6:15 AM. At this time I exit the shower, brush my teeth, comb my hair, and dress for the day ahead.

I do fix things, however. I fix problems. Problems with fluffies. I operate on fluffies of all sorts and do a spectacular job if I do say so myself. I do this because it’s what I enjoy.

6:30 AM. I leave for work at this time each day without fail. I’m always punctual to work. I tune my radio to a different station every day, eager to discover something new.

When I say that it’s what I enjoy, I don’t mean saving lives. I mean cutting fluffies open. I love to cut fluffies open and flip through their little organs as if they were files in a cabinet.

6:45 AM. I arrive at work. When I enter the building, I’m greeted by all who see me. My colleagues are all pleasures to work with. I regard Eliza, my assistant, as I stride towards my office.

I sit comfortably at my desk, swiping through the music I have on my phone. I’m looking for something purposeful. A song worthy of a grandiose entrance. I find it, and I am satisfied.

7:00 AM. I feel the minute roll over.

“Dr. Lane,” Eliza calls to me from down the corridor, “your 7 AM is here!”

Like clockwork.