Derpy Daycare, Chapter One (By Za)

Derpy Daycare

By @Za

Originally Penned February 25th, 2020

Chapter One

Sunlight burned through the window, my curtains doing little to inhibit its progress. I instinctively peeked my eyes open, howling in pain as light assaulted my retinas. I rolled out of bed, rubbing the sleep from my burning eyes. My vision wandered across my room, the dark walls appearing white and my band posters plastered across them incomprehensible. Oh god, what was I thinking staying up so late last night? Today was the first day of my new job, and I needed to keep this one. I’d been unemployed for a few months, and my mom finally grew tired of paying my car insurance and phone bill for me. She gave me an ultimatum: lose my car and my phone, or get a job. The former seemed like a fate worse than death, considering I was a high school student. As I got my bearings, I glanced up at the clock on my wall. Nine in the morning, far too early for me to be motivated. Nonetheless, I scratched my nuts and swung open the closet door with a groan. I filed through a selection of greyscale tees and blue jeans, searching for the disgusting eyesore of a uniform they expected me to wear. At last I found it, the bubblegum pink shirt standing out like a middle finger. I grabbed the shirt and my only pair of khaki pants, slinging the vile garments across my shoulder as I shambled towards the bathroom.