Mana Charger? I barely know her! -GooGooDa

Hey Yall! This is going to be my first time posting a story online.

For some context, this story is placed in a modern urban world with it’s own magic system, I might write more about it in the future but for now I won’t elaborate too much on how magic works in the setting, Fluffies are a common type of magical creature in this world and not very valuable. Please feel free to offer feedback as I’m not too experienced in posting online.

A young magical user is looking for subjects for their magic studies in the ruins of an old city. Destroyed during a magical disaster.

“Ugh, what a wasted trip…” I say under my breath as I kick a small rock forward.

As a young magic user I have to learn as much as possible to get ahead of my peers in this world. Even it it means exploring the fucked up remains of some magical disaster from 10 years ago. What even happened here?..

Well who cares, the city is all debris, dust, and magical beasts doing whatever they can to survive, I can’t seem to find anything interesting for miles! So much for exploration…

“P-pwease mummah… nu go foweba sweepies…”

“Oh?” As I hear the distant sound of a creature babbling in an infantile voice from a nearby alleyway, I make sure to hide my approach and observe

“Huhuhu… fwuffy am su sowwy… nu wan tummy huwties… nee’ nummies…”

I can see the small creature’s… mother, I think? Is barely breathing, probably starving slowly to death as it’s child, a skinny pink foal, hugs one of her dry teats, probably hoping for a last drop of milk

“Babbeh… dun wowwy… wiww be awight… we cawl daddeh soon… fix evewyfin…”

It seems to have entered some state of delusion from hunger. The mother seems to not have much time left, I come out in the open and reveal myself to the two creatures, approaching them slowly. The mother is the first one to notice me-

“Eeeekkkk!!! Scaaaawwy hoomin! Gu 'way! Nu huwt!”
And then the Foal does, jeez how is it so loud?